WCPFC Photos

This week the Annual Session of the Western and Central Pacific Fisheries Commission (WCPFC) is being held in Ko Olina, Hawaii. News on outcomes from the meeting will be released on 10 December 2010 (Hawaii time). 

The Western and Central Pacific Fisheries Commission (WCPFC) is the central decision making body for management of tuna fishing in the Western and Central Pacific Ocean. Conservation and management measures (CMMs) of the Commission are legally binding and apply to all WCPFC members and the Convention area. Whereas members of FFA are from the Pacific Islands, members of WCPFC are FFA members and distant water fishing nations.

WCPFC's current members include Australia, China, Canada, Cook Islands, European Community, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, France, Japan, Kiribati, Korea, Republic of Marshall Islands, Nauru, New Zealand, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Chinese Taipei, Tonga, Tuvalu, United States of America and Vanuatu. Out of a total of 32 participating territories and members of WCPFC, over half (17) are FFA members, forming a significant voting bloc (although so far in the WCPFC's history decisions have been made by consensus).

The Western and Central Pacific Ocean accounted for 54% of the world's tuna catch in 2007 making tuna a key economic resource. Increasingly industry, environmental organisations and the international community are closely monitoring the outcomes from WCPFC annual meetings.

Please download photos of this year's delegations below by clicking on the attachment file.