The Western and Central Pacific Fisheries Commission (WCPFC) is the central decision making body for management of tuna fishing in the Western and Central Pacific Ocean. Conservation and management measures (CMMs) of the Commission are legally binding and apply to all WCPFC members and the Convention area. Whereas members of FFA are from the Pacific Islands, members of WCPFC are FFA members and distant water fishing nations.

WCPFC's current members include Australia, China, Canada, Cook Islands, European Community, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, France, Japan, Kiribati, Korea, Republic of Marshall Islands, Nauru, New Zealand, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Chinese Taipei, Tonga, Tuvalu, United States of America and Vanuatu. Out of a total of 32 participating territories and members of WCPFC, over half (17) are FFA members, forming a significant voting bloc (although so far in the WCPFC's history decisions have been made by consensus).

The Western and Central Pacific Ocean accounted for 54% of the world's tuna catch in 2007 making tuna a key economic resource. Increasingly industry, environmental organisations and the international community are closely monitoring the outcomes from WCPFC annual meetings.

FFA's support for members at the WCPFC

FFA coordinates subregional workshops, preparatory meetings for the WCPFC Scientific Committee and Technical Committee meetings and FFC meetings so that all its 17 members have information and discussions to prepare for their participation in the Western and Central Pacific Fisheries Commission (WCPFC) at its annual meeting. This support is an important part of FFA's ongoing efforts to increase national capacity and strengthen regional solidarity so that member countries can manage their fisheries for the benefit of people today and for future generations.

See more on the work of the WCPFC and what FFA members are doing at the Commission table at www.wcpfc.int